You are here
Home > Jody Cundy > Here we go!

Here we go!

Here we go!

4 years have flown by, and here were go with the opening ceremony of the Rio Paralympics.
The last few weeks as a team we’ve had an amazing preparation camp in Newport Wales. Where the staff at the Celtic Manor and the Wales National Velodrome looked after our needs to allow us to have the most relaxed holding camp I think I’ve been part of in the 6 Paralympics I’ve attended.
Other than one or two equipment hiccups, which always seem to happen in the run up to the Paralympics, everything has gone really well, myself and the rest of the team appear to be flying on the track, with everyone seemingly setting best times in the run up to Rio, I think it’s the strongest I’ve ever seen a cycling team I’ve been part of, and certainly reminds me of the buildup we had ahead of Beijing, where we went on to win 17 gold and 3 silver medals.

Personally I’m really pleased with how my riding is going, and eager to take to the start line and do the ride that’s in my legs.
By all accounts the velodrome is now sold out, and I’m looking forward to how the atmosphere compares to the patriotic crowd we had in London 4 years ago. I sense it’s going to be different, but especially after watching the Olympic coverage, and hearing some of the football like chanting that was happening in the swimming pool I think it has the potential to be equally as awe inspiring.

For these games I’ve had custom artwork commissioned for my carbon cycling leg, and once again the guys at Image Design Custom have gone above and beyond my expectations and produced an eye catching sentimental design. Hopefully the treasure map on the leg leads to the gold I’ve been seeking for the last 4 years.

If you want to tune in to watch my racing here’s where you can do so.

Schedule

C4-5 1km Time Trial   – Friday 9th September 2016 16:30 BRT/ 20:30 BST

Mixed Team Sprint     – Sunday 11th September 2016 Heats 10:54 BRT/ 14:54 BST
Final 13:01 BRT/ 17:01 BST

You can watch on Channel 4 and all their live feeds online and on the red button or you can follow the official live feeds from the IPC online with http://www.dailymotion.com/paralympics

Thank you to everyone who has been a continued part in my sporting career to date, friends, family, sponsors, coaches and support staff who’ve made it possible for me to take to the start line for my 6th Paralympic Games. Hopefully I can make this one memorable for the riding and not the swearing.

See you on the other side
Jody

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

Top